What is the AVMA Humane Award?


Cat expert Joan Miller received the 2017 AVMA Humane Award in recognition of her contributions to feline welfare.

avma convention avma humane awardAnswer:

The AVMA Humane Award is given annually to a non-veterinarian to recognize his/her achievements in advancing the welfare of animals via leadership, public service, education, research/product development, and/or advocacy. The AVMA’s intent in bestowing this award is to encourage attention to animal welfare within the context of responsible animal use and to reward thoughtful and science-based animal welfare advocacy.

Previous recipients include:

2016 Harold Dates, OH
2015 Dr. John McGlone, TX
2014 Mr. Ralph Johnson, CO
2013 Mr. Mark Tinsman, DE
2012 Dr. Camie Heleski, MI
2011 Anne Lindsay, MA
2010 Kathryn Warnick, MO
2009 Cynthia Bathurst, PhD, IL
2008 Sharon Harmon, OR
2007 Bernard Rollins, PhD, CO
2006 No Award Given
2005 Jeff Goodwin, PhD, CO
2004 Carolyn Danese, GA
2003 Detective Mike Duffey, AZ
2002 Steve Dale, IL

Source: American Veterinary Medical Association


Leave A Reply