Scholarships Aid 32 Students Committed to Equine Medicine

June 10, 2010

Winner’s Circle Program rewards veterinary students by reducing cost of education

Thirty-two leading veterinary students following a career path in equine medicine have received financial support through The Winner’s Circle Scholarship Program. The program, which is sponsored by the American Association of Equine Practitioners Foundation, Platinum Performance and The Race For Education, honors fourth-year students for involvement at their veterinary schools and dedication to careers in equine practice.The Winner’s Circle scholarships are intended to help offset the growing cost of veterinary school. Students are nominated from each of the AAEP’s 36 student chapters in North America and receive scholarships ranging from $1,500 to $5,000, depending on the needs of the individual student.

“The rising cost of veterinary school continues to present challenges to talented students who endeavor to enter the equine veterinary profession,” said Wayne McIlwraith, BVSc, Ph.D., chairman of the AAEP Foundation Advisory Committee. “The Winner’s Circle Scholarship program provides financial relief for proven student leaders who have pledged their careers to advancing the health of horses.”

The program encourages students’ long-term loyalty to the AAEP, the AAEP Foundation, The Race For Education and the Thoroughbred industry. This year, more than $130,000 in scholarship funds was distributed to students through the Winner’s Circle program. Since its establishment in 2008, the program has provided more than $400,000 in financial support of equine veterinary students.

Congratulations to the following 2010 recipients:
Ashley Homm, Auburn University
Nathan Canady, Colorado State University
Jennifer Nightingale, Cornell University
Kirsty Husby, Iowa State University
Lindsey Horner, Kansas State University
Amy Norvall, Louisiana State University
Charlotte Lucas, Michigan State University
Nadine Kirk, Mississippi State University
Chelsey Miller, North Carolina State University
Caitlin Daly, The Ohio State University
James Rogers, Oklahoma State University
Kyle Goldie, University of Guelph
Ragan Garrett, Oregon State University
Nicole Dalesandro, Purdue University
Tiffany Tobias, Ross University
Natalie Landen, St. George’s University
Lynn Green-Ivey, Texas A&M University
Barbara Harrison, Tufts University
Kristen Ostrosky, Tuskegee University
Alison Hoffman, University of California-Davis
Ariel Womble, University of Florida
Rachel Witt, University of Illinois
Crystal Sampson, University of Missouri
Dionne Benson, University of Minnesota
Noemi Menard-Levigne, University of Montreal
Ashley Yanchik, University of Pennsylvania
Sarah Mouri, University of Prince Edward Island
Dane Tatarniuk, University of Saskatchewan
Kate LeVasseur, University of Wisconsin
Brian Kopec, Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine
Molly Bellefeuille, Washington State University
Tiffany Trotter, Western University of Health Services

For more information about The Race For Education, visit,/a> or call (859) 252-8648. For more information about Platinum Performance, visit

The AAEP Foundation, Inc. (, a 501(c) (3) organization, was created in 1994 as the charitable arm of the American Association of Equine Practitioners. The AAEP Foundation’s mission is to improve the health and welfare of the horse through support of research, education, benevolence and the equine community.



Comments are closed.