Dr. Lori Teller elected vice chair of AVMA Board of Directors


Dr. Lori Teller

The American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) Board of Directors elected Dr. Lori Teller as its vice chair during the 2019 AVMA Convention in Washington, D.C.

As vice chair, Dr. Teller will substitute for Dr. Rena Carlson, the newly-elected AVMA Board chair, in her absence and perform other duties as prescribed by the board or the chair.

“I am honored to be entrusted to serve in this new and exciting role,” said Dr. Teller. “In the year ahead, I look forward to my continued work with my board colleagues, AVMA staff and others within the profession in addressing those issues most important to veterinary medicine.”

Dr. Teller will maintain her current role as AVMA Board representative for District VIII, a post she has held since 2015, which includes AVMA members living in Arkansas, Louisiana and Texas. She is also chair of the AVMA State Advocacy Committee and a past member of several AVMA committees and task forces including the Animal Welfare Committee, and has served in the AVMA House of Delegates.

Dr. Teller has held a number of leadership roles at other organizations including the Texas Veterinary Medical Association, the Harris County Veterinary Medical Association and the American Society of Veterinary Journalists. She was a founding board member of the Women’s Veterinary Leadership Development Initiative, which is dedicated to helping develop female leaders in veterinary medicine.

Dr. Teller has a monthly radio spot on Houston Public Media, where she highlights the importance of veterinary care for dogs and cats. She serves as a mentor to many veterinary students, recent graduates and young leaders.

Dr. Teller is a graduate of Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, where she is a clinical associate professor of telehealth. She is a board-certified diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners in Canine and Feline Practice.

Dr. Douglas Kratt selected as 2019-2020 AVMA president-elect


Leave A Reply