AVMA Announces New Volunteer Leadership

AVMA Convention
AVMA has new volunteer leaders for AVMA councils and committees. During the American Veterinary Medical Association’s (AVMA) annual convention, the AVMA House of Delegates (HOD) selected 19 new volunteer leaders.  Member volunteers are a critical aspect of the AVMA’s member-driven mission to meet the goals of the veterinary profession. Any voting AVMA member can volunteer, and AVMA’s governance offers diverse leadership opportunities for veterinarians with experience and interest in any aspect of veterinary medicine.
New appointments to councils and committees include:
  *   AVMA Council on Biologic and Therapeutic Agents<https://www.avma.org/Members/Volunteer/BecomeAVolunteer/Pages/cobta.aspx>: Drs. Richard Hill and Jeffrey Powers were named as at-large members of the council, and Dr. Jessica Light was named as an industry, exclusive member of the council. Dr. Michael Strobel was named as a clinical pharmacology representative to the council.
  *   AVMA Council on Public Health and Regulatory Veterinary Medicine<https://www.avma.org/About/Governance/Councils/Pages/Council-on-Public-Health-and-Regulatory-Veterinary-Medicine-Entity-Description.aspx>: Drs. Samuel Fassig and Dustin Oedekoven were named to the council as representatives of as agricultural agencies.
  *   AVMA Council on Research<https://www.avma.org/About/Governance/Councils/Pages/Council-on-Research-Entity-Description.aspx>: Dr. Matt Krecic was named as a veterinary medical research member of the council, and Drs. Ayman Sayegh and Kathryn Meurs were named as members representing colleges of veterinary medicine. Dr. Carlos Pereyra was named as a private clinical practice representative to the council.
  *   AVMA Council on Veterinary Service<https://www.avma.org/Members/Volunteer/BecomeAVolunteer/Pages/covs.aspx>: Dr. Tiffany Collins was named as an emerging leader/recent graduate representative to the council, and Drs. Ronald Kelpe and Julie Buford were named as small animal private practice representatives to the council. Additionally, Dr. Robin Paterson was named as a private mixed-animal practice representative to the council.
  *   AVMA House Advisory Committee<https://www.avma.org/Members/Volunteer/BecomeAVolunteer/Pages/hac.aspx>: Drs. Sandra Faeh, Rex Anderson and Saundra Willis were named to this committee.
  *   AVMA Judicial Council<https://www.avma.org/Members/Volunteer/BecomeAVolunteer/Pages/judicial.aspx>: Drs. Marthina Greer and Sarah Babcock were named as at-large members of the council.
To be considered for a volunteer position, AVMA members must submit nomination materials to the AVMA Office of the Executive Vice President. Members can view a full list of volunteer position vacancies, along with application instructions, on AVMA’s website<https://www.avma.org/Members/Volunteer/BecomeAVolunteer/Pages/vacancies.aspx>. AVMA encourages all members to explore volunteer opportunities.

Leave A Reply